Papal Encyclical on the environment?

It’s being reported that Pope Francis will soon issue a Papal Encyclical on the environment.

motherjones.com/environment/2014/12/pope-francis-climate-change

My question has to do with how this might fit in with Catholic teaching that the Pope is only infallible regarding issues of Faith and Morals. I’m sure most are aware that “Global Warming” is seen by many as a politically divisive issue, and that the dire warnings issued by Al Gore and those of his ilk have not happened. (See rushlimbaugh.com/daily/2006/01/27/algore_we_have_ten_years_left_before_earth_cooks as an example.) So, does the use of a Papal Encyclical mean the the RCC considers Global Warming a faith and morals issue, and therefore the Pope is infallible on this topic? Or does a Papal Encyclical just put out the best thinking of the RCC at the time that is not binding on Catholics? Thanks in advance.

I’m no expert on such things, but it seems that when the Holy Father puts forth a teaching document, it would be spiritually prudent to prayerfully consider what he says, regardless of the often misunderstood “infallibility” issue. How we treat the world God has given us is indeed a matter of faith and morals.

It will be interesting to compare what Pope Francis has to say on environmental issues with those of Ecumenical Patriarch Bartholomew I.

patriarchate.org/the-green-patriarch

In regard to your question, encyclicals are not infallible per se, but they are part of church teaching and the faithful should respect the teaching even though it’s not strictly dogmatic.

On a side note, We are called to be good stewards of the earth, regardless of the cause of global warming, most concepts of environmental protection due to global warming reflect good stewardship principals.

Remember also that the Christian Faith is not subject to political parties…there are far too many times in America where republican politics is treated as synonymous with Christian living.