Parish Pressure

Hi,
I'm a Catholic teacher at a private school and an active member of the Parish. I am a Catechist, Eucharistic Minister, and Adorer. I recently went to a CRHP weekend at our parish mostly because I felt I was going to be looked down upon negatively if I didn't support this ministry. I now have chosen not to continue the meetings because I am not comfortable sharing my history where I work and teach so closely. Part of me wants to keep some things private for the sacredness. In my history, I was forced as a teenager to terminate a pregnancy by my parents. It was awful. Took me years to get over that and forgive myself. Actually confessed it many times and still hurts. I just don't want to "go there" again and feel that I want to celebrate the good stuff of God and serve HIM. How do I get back this "she doesn't want to participate" feeling from my local Parish community? Do you think this uncomfortable feeling is God asking me to share my trials?

What is a CRHP weekend? :confused:

Who is pressuring you? …

CRHP = Christ Renews His Parish
Some of the women in the group who went on the weekend keep asking me if I am going to go to the meeting each week and I'm not sure why I feel pressured to give them an answer. I feel badly that I'm not going, but I do my own spiritual direction and I don't feel comfortable sharing my past trials...something that each person does as part of a 6 month faith formation. Any advice?

Would it work to say something like "thank you for thinking of me but I already participate in spiritual direction on my own."?

[quote="peacefulteacher, post:3, topic:287124"]