Parochial Boundaries

According to canon law, every Catholic should register and attend mass at the Parish they are located in. Does anyone go to a church outside of the parochial boundaries they live in? If so, how do you justify this?

I'm an adult, I attend the Church I want. I don't have to justify it to anyone.

[quote="super_squirrel, post:2, topic:208229"]
I'm an adult, I attend the Church I want. I don't have to justify it to anyone.

[/quote]

I guess Canon Law is a suggestion. I once tried to convince a cop that the speed limit I had just broken was a suggestion. He wasn't convinced of that nor am I convinced that adults are exempt from the Law of the Church. But even if they are Christ said to be like a child :), so either way I think obedience to the law is the way to go.

To answer the OP question:
I go to a Ukrainian Catholic Church even though I am canonically Roman, so I am way out of my parish boundries.

Canon Law, to my knowledge (and I Am Not A Canon Lawyer), says nothing about registering with a parish – Parish registration is, as far as I know, an artificial adminstrative action.

What Canon Law does say is that you acquire a proper pastor by virtue of the parish or place in which you live.

tee

I live in the Archdiocese of Saint Paul and Minneapolis. As far as I know, there aren’t even parish or parochial “boundaries”. There are simply Catholic churches, you pick one, and you go. There are 5 Catholic churches within 8 miles of my home in various directions.

I was through RCIA and already a Baptize Catholic before I even learned there was such a thing as "parochial boundaries." The Mormons and other cults have "boundaries" and tell you where you may or may not attend church on Sunday "or else" you'll be "going against the Church," or, in the words of previous posters "breaking canon law" or being "disobedient." Kind of creepy. :sad_yes:

[quote="jfoges, post:1, topic:208229"]