Participation in non christian rituals

I am new to CAF, but have been following various discussions for sometime as a guest. I am a Catholic residing in India. I am not sure I am addressing my question in the appropriate forum and would welcome correction from members. The question that bothers me is simple, but despite research I am not sure I have found the appropriate answer to the issue.

I have been invited by certain Hindu friends to participate in their rituals (which would obviously include worship of their deities). I understand and try to live my faith in Christ and so would be more inclined to refuse the invitation. I am however concerned for some of my Catholic brothers who may be more willing to accept and participate in such rituals merely to avoid offending the Hindu friends.

I would be grateful if am directed to the Church teachings on whether it is acceptable to participate in Hindu or non Christian worship rituals. Alternatively, if there has already been a discussion or if there is a reference that I may peruse, it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

It is not allowed. I would not attend such an event. In that way neither God and Hindu friends are offended. As for church teaching, let's start with the 1st commandment. That is pretty clear, right?

Thanks Contra Mundum. The first commandment is the basis for my reluctance to attend such events. My concern is countering justification from myy brothers that mere passive participation (in terms of being physically present and watching) will not run contra of the commandment as they would not be actively worshiping with the others. Do you know of any explanation or commentary to the first commandment that may include an express prohibition that I may use to build my case.

I'm afraid I don't. Let's hope other posters will be able to provide that. I'm sure the Catechism has something to say about this.