Passion and Vocation/Calling in Life

So, I’m here to admit something that I’ve never told anyone in this world…something that really confuses and frustrates, and angers me to no end. If I think about it for long enough, it becomes an incurable disease that slowly takes hold until it has come to completely dominate my life, pushing out all concentration and sanity until I’m able to distract myself from it by writing cathardic posts such as this one. And, it is a major stumbling block in my relationship with Jesus, which is why I am posting it here.

I don’t have a passion. I don’t love anything enough that I MUST pursue it.

I am interested in politics and human rights, which makes this revelation all the more uncomfortable. As far as my beliefs take me, I don’t have any issues where I feel my point of view is absolutely right and all people should do X under all circumstances (I know I could start with the Church’s stances on certain issues, but I am very new to Catholicism and not yet at the point where I can throw myself completely behind any cause). I tend to see too many complications in situations and am not sure where and how to act to contribute positively. Many people have a personal experience (often tragic) that becomes a mission. I have not (not that my life has been comfortable or easy, though such things are relative). I am also no spring chicken, and getting closer to the big 3-0 at a frightening speed. Nor can I point to family and marriage as my true calling, as I am nowhere near that life at this point in time (which I know is related to my undefinedness). Now I never expected to have my whole life together by 30 or had a checklist of ages for other things, but having something, anything to devote my life to would be nice.

Where did I go wrong? Why am I so useless? I really do not know what to do, except pray and wait…and wait…and wait…and possibly watch a lifetime go by.