Patients with ectopic pregnancies

I have a job related question. I’m a nurse and I just got a new job at a large hospital in my community in a department where my tasks are consuiting physicians from outside smaller hospitals to physicians in my larger hospital, and arranging patient transport to make sure that patients are getting transferred to the appropriate department. I’m not having any patient contact at all. My job is a desk job in which I’m basically on the phone with physicians for my entire shift. So I’m not at the bedside providing patient care.

My question is this. For patients with ectopic pregnancies, which is a medical emergency, the only moral treatment is to remove the total fallopian tube. However many times the treatment is methotrexate or, only removing the baby from the tube (which would be immoral because thsee treatments are abortion). Keep in mind that when I’m on the phone I have no say over what treatments the doctor will prescribe for a patient, also sometimes the doctors do not say what treatments they will provide.

Is it immoral for me to arrange transport for patients with ectopic pregnancies to physicians who may or may not prescribe an abortive treatment for their ectopic pregnancy? Morally would that be helping someone to procure an abortion?

Contact he experts - those that Catholic Answers Staff refer to (one will find various ideas on this forums but some may lead one down the wrong road…please this this kind of thing contact the experts):

ncbcenter.org/

One would call them and ask to speak with an ethicist. Such as Fr. Tad who appears on CA all the time.

Just do the job you are paid to do. It is not your job to make moral judgements.

Ectopic pregnancies are not viable pregnancies. I have never heard a Catholic authority say that one particular treatment is more moral than another treatment.