Patron Saints and Experiences

Do you choose your patron saint or do they choose you…

For those of you who have a patron saint… Would you list who they are and how you knew they were your patron saint and any experience where they interceeded on your behalf?

The Blessed Virgin Mary - As the Mother of the Church, she is my main patron saint. She has led me to her Son and she has helped me to defeat sin and grow in holiness.

St. Dominic - His sons have guided my spiritual life since I came back to the Church. The Rosary given to him by the Blessed Mother has been my constant source of grace and peace. St. Dominic’s ideals and ethos inspires me, and his personal holiness is something I always strive to emulate.

St. Thomas Aquinas - The Angelic Doctor was my patron when I was a student. His intercession helped a great deal during examinations and essays. I always prayed to him before all of my exams and during my periods of study and revision. He was and continues to be one of my greatest friends in Christ.

St. Anthony - He always helps me find lost items. I always find what I am looking for when I ask him to help.

St. Michael - I always ask for his protection. The Prince of the Heavenly Host protects me during spiritual attacks (real or imagined :)) and he gives me strength to defeat temptation.

My Guardian Angel - He is my companion, and my guide. Every day I ask him to be by my side. I am starting to pray to him more than ever and I think he is a great support.

There are others I could mention but these are the my main patrons. I pray to these great saints on a daily basis, some more than others. I pray to many different saints for many different reasons.

Not to get off topic, but you can have more than one patron? Hmm…

How do you know which one to take as a Baptism or Confirmation name?

Not to get off topic, but you can have more than one patron? Hmm…

Why can’t you have more than one?

Can you have more than one friend?