Person refuses to shop at Hobby Lobby because of LGBT & pro-choice attitude

Hello.

During my clinical (I am in my last semester of getting my BSN) one of the group leaders told us students that she refused to shop at Hobby Lobby because they were against the LGBT community as well as contraception and abortion.

I didn’t know what to say to her that was charitable, but I didn’t think that she should have been promoting her agenda at a supposedly neutral public health facility. I was also angry at myself for not standing up for my faith in some way.

Any charitable, constructive thoughts?

I’m curious what the context of your discussion was that she would bring up this personal preference.

I refuse to buy tickets for certain movies because of the political views of the actors or if they might be prochoice and not prolife and I probably would not be afraid to voice that in a public setting.
I have a friend who heads the 40 Days for Life campaign at our parish and she has a list of companies that support Planned Parenthood and will refuse to do business with them.

In work situations, coworkers often chat among themselves about all sort of things which might not be directly associated with the work that they are doing.

Its certainly this young lady’s right to shop where she wants for this reason or any other reason.

You don’t have to respond at all, and you would be better served by not, you don’t want to get into an argument.

Don’t be too angry with yourself at not being able to come up with the right thing to say. Nursing tends to be a very pro-LGBT, pro-choice environment. People on the left are sneaky. When they inject their biases into your education, they do so in a way that’s hard to combat.

However, you could learn a few slogans which might help. For instance, next time, you might say, “Feeling biased today?” You might have said, “Opinions are like bellybuttons. Everybody has one, but you don’t need to show it off.”