Please help me out with this one, Eucharistic adoration!

Hi everyone. I’m an RCIA student coming from a Protestant background, and I’m really struggling with Eucharistic adoration. Some of my Protestant brothers and sisters in Christ are saying that Eucharistic adoration is pure unadulterated idolatry, because they say that Catholics are just worshiping a piece of bread. I think that I may understand the doctrine of Real Presence, but I’m still struggling with this. Any help from any Catholics on this would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

If you understand the doctrine of the real presence, then you should not have a problem with adoring Jesus Christ in the Blessed Sacrament. What we are adoring is Christ himself, body, blood, soul and divinity under the “appearance” of bread–but no longer bread.

I have an unconscious remnant of discomfort with it sometimes for the same reasons. For those of us raised in Protestant tradition, it’s a hard mindset to abolish. I suggest you read chapter 6 of John again and reflect on the meaning of the Real Presence.

Here are some words on this topic from a presentation of mine at a church event last year.

As Protestants we used to insist on literal interpretation of Scripture, but we sure didn’t feel that way about the sixth chapter of the Gospel of John or 1 Corinthians 11:27-29, which reads as follows.

Therefore whoever eats the bread or drinks the cup of the Lord unworthily will have to answer for the body and blood of the Lord. A person should examine himself, and so eat the bread and drink the cup. For anyone who eats and drinks without discerning the body, eats and drinks judgement on himself.

After all, one doesn’t talk about a mere symbol this way, but that’s all we understood as Protestants.

As we learned more and more about the Catholic Church, however, we began to realize how profoundly mistaken we had been.