Please help with funeral

My husband’s grandmother died yesterday after a long and painful battle with cancer. My husband will not be able to attend the funeral as he is Afgahnistan. His mother and aunt asked me to speak at the funeral. I would greatly appreciate your help with a few things.

Please share your favorite Scripture passages. I would like to be able to read something.

Would it be inappropriate to read a passage from “The Last Battle?” I am thinking of the last paragraph describing heaven.

This will be a Methodist service. DD and I have discussed how happy Grandma is right now and how she is praying for all of us. Can I say this?

Thank you so much for your assistance.

First, I would like to offer my sincere condolonces for your loss. I am also praying for you and your family during this time, especially since your husband is away it must be so very stressful.

I wish I could provide you with a great reading but I am not very good at that! However, I will advise you to pray to the Holy Spirit for guidance…with him leading the way you are sure to pick something very lovely.

Take care.

Ecclesiastes 3:1-11 “…A time to be born, a time to die…”

1 Corinthians 2:6-10 …Eye has not seen, ear…heard…what God has prepared…"

John 14:1-6 “There are many rooms in my Father’s house.”

2 Maccabees 12:43-46

Job 19:1, 23-27a

*Wisdoms 4:7-15

*Isaiah 25:6a, 7-9

*Lamentations 3:17-26

Daniel 12:1-3

1 Thessalonians 4:13-18

Are you sure it’s true?

Should be careful with that around Methodists. A funeral isnt the time to show off your Catholic faith to people who may get offended.

Maggies list is great, however, Protestants don’t have Maccabees in their Bible.

Also, it is possible grandma is in purgatory and needs your prayers. However, as purgatory is not in Protestant theology (hence the missing Maccabees) I don’t know if you could suggest it in a delicate way or not. (Something like “We commend our dear grandma to the mercy of Almighty God.”).