Please,please help - i did something terrible

Dear CAF,

Please help me. I don’t know if I have posted this in the wrong forum, if so, please move this thread to the correct forum.

I am in a very tight spot. I am a college student currently applying into medical school. I have had a research professor for the past two years. Although in the beginning everything was going very well, gradually my research professor started to treat me very badly – I can’t explain all the details – but by the way he spoke to me, by the way that he looked at me – the horrible backhanded insults that he said to me, I knew in the gut of my stomach, that he was jealous of me. I can’t explain all the details – I can’t explain everything that happened, but I had this very strong feeling in the gut of my stomach that he didn’t like me.

Every time that something bad would happen – either he insulted me or gave me a look, I would always doubt myself and defend him in my mind, telling myself, “You’re just thinking too much, you are just being too overly sensitive.” I started to pray to God about this entire situation, asking God to take away my feelings if I was misunderstanding my research professor. But over the years, the feeling never went away. I was praying that God would protect me if this professor continued to bully me. I was feeling so sad.

Another reason why I was feeling super sad and stressed out about this was the fact that undergraduate research is extremely important to universities – universities want to see students who have a strong research background, and a strong letter of recommendation from a 2 year research professor is so needed.