Please pray for me.

Hi. I am new to this web site. I have some things I need to talk about and I thought this would be the best place to do so. I came back to the Catholic Church 8 years ago. I’ve been married for 28 years by civil law and want to get married in the church, but my husband does not want to get married in the church. I talked to my parish priest and he explained to me that the church cannot allow me to get married in the church because of the fact that my husband himself does not want to. Father told me that the church cannot marry someone against their will and that the church respects his decision. I have talked to my husband about getting married in the church more than once and he said no. My husband has said that he does not believe in the church and doesn’t like anything about it. I’m very sad and feel rejected. I can accept that this is all my fault, but I was hoping really hard to be able to get married anyway. But I understand that mother church has her rules. Father reminded me that I cannot receive any of the sacraments. I told him that I know I cannot receive communion, but that I have come to confession. He told me I could not do that, but then he said that I could go to confession and receive a blessing by crossing my arms like the children whom have not been through their first communion. I know this is a long post and I apologize. But I sincerely ask that you pray for me. I need a lot of help.

I am sorry you are going through this and am happy to pray for you.

Your priest is right, he cannot force or even coerce your husband into getting married in the church, your husband has to accept it willingly.