Please pray that I can afford to stay in college

Hi,

I am really worried almost to the point of panic, and could really use your prayers.

I’m a sophomore in college, attending Duquesne University for music performance, studying classical piano. It’s been a struggle for several of the semesters to get the money. The first semester, my mom borrowed on her 401(k). The second semester, thankfully we were able to get a loan that covered that as well as last semester.

I thought we’d be fine this semester. I looked at the statement last month, and it listed the statement balance as $8,300 after all the grants and federal loans were applied (about $11,500). I was fine with that, because I knew a grant would be coming in from the Blind and Visual Services for $6,700. That’d leave me with about $1,500, and I’d just need to pay that to under $1,000 in order to make my housing deposit and to schedule for next year. It’d be hard by myself, but my mom agreed to split it with me.

Well, then I noticed the current balance (as opposed to statement) was $10,700. I couldn’t understand why that was, but then looked at the history and realized it was because I switched majors. Last semester I was in the school of science, which only cost $11,700, but after almost failing and realizing I belonged in music, I switched to the music school, which costs $14,500 per semester.

They had charged me for the school of science back in November, and didn’t get around to refunding me that cost and charging the cost of the music school, until January 31, after the statement was released.

Anyway, in short, it’s now $4,000 I owe instead of $1,500. I am on disability, only receiving about $600 a month from that, and my mom can’t afford much more. Neither of us can get loans, due to my lack of history and her poor credit. The one place we got a loan last year isn’t accepting anymore applications. She’s seeing if she can borrow on her 401(k) again, but besides that, I’m at a loss.