Prayer book during Mass?

Hi, I’m new to Catholic Forums. I wish to become Catholic and possibly a priest. I was wondering: Do priests have prayer books during Mass or do they memorize the prayers?

1 Like

They have a missal to read the prayers from.

However, some do memorize select parts of the mass.

God Bless

2 Likes

You’re coming close to a “nerve” that is touchy for a lot of Catholics. The priests use prayer books and are not supposed to improvise. Improvising prayers is very distracting when you come to expect the standard prayers.

The prayer books offer the priests options of prayers, but not to improvise. The priest is not supposed to be the focus of the Mass, keeping the people in suspense as to what he is going to do or say next.

3 Likes

There is a very thick and heavy book (use both hands) called the Missal on the altar during Mass. It contains all the prayers needed for Mass. There is no way a priest could learn all of them by heart as some are only prayed once/year. The priest celebrates Mass every day either by himself or together with other priests. There are several Eucharistic prayers but 4 are more common and prayed more often. A large part of them, they will learn fairly quickly.

Kyrie, Gloria, Sanctus, Agnus Dei, Our Father etc the priests, as well as the people in the pew, should have memorized.

2 Likes

A priest who has been saying Mass daily for years can easily memorize the standard prayers and say them from memory without a book, the same way as I can usually make all the Mass responses from memory after having attended a lot of Masses.

Not using a prayer book does not mean the priest is “improvising”, and in fact I cannot remember one instance of a priest “improvising” prayers in over a year I’ve been attending almost daily Mass at many different churches. It is pretty obvious that many of them have certain prayers memorized as they are able to pray them without looking at a missal that is usually open nearby.

4 Likes