PRAYER CHARGES Christian group: School officials to be tried for prayer violation

[quote=KXMC]ORLANDO, Fla. (AP) A Christian advocacy group says a Florida high school’s principal and athletic director could be fined or sent to jail because a prayer of blessing was said before a meal at a school-related event.

Liberty Counsel President Mat Staver says Pace High School Principal Frank Lay and Athletic Director Robert Freeman are scheduled to go on trial next month on criminal contempt charges.

[/quote]

Source here.

I’m speechless…

God Bless.

Chris.

What is America turning into?

Saying grace before a meal is not a crime-

"Now children, be quiet while I say grace:Mighty Thor, God of Thunder, Smiter of enemies!
We thank you Mighty Thor for this food before us.
May we eat it and grow big and strong,
So that we will be better able to smite our enemies,
As you smite your enemies.
Mighty Thor, God of Thunder, Hear our prayer!"
I was a teacher for five years. Would you have wanted me to teach Buddhist meditation to your children in school time and while being paid with your tax dollars?

In a public school, in school time and while being paid with public dollars then the teacher’s personal religious beliefs are to be kept personal. Save prayers for outside school.

rossum

Whether or not such a prayer was socially inappropriate in that context is one issue. Certainly, one can make the arguments about separation of church and state and about respecting the religious beliefs of others in our diverse society.

But to criminalize prayer and punish it with fines and/or jail time? That goes too far.

The prayer itself was not criminalized. According to the link in the OP:Liberty Counsel President Mat Staver says Pace High School Principal Frank Lay and Athletic Director Robert Freeman are scheduled to go on trial next month on criminal contempt charges.

Staver says they’re accused of violating a court order prohibiting prayer at school events.