Praying for trivial things

I’ve heard conflicting answers on this. And by trivial, I mean prayers like, “Lord, help me to sleep well tonight,” or “Lord, give me the perseverance to practice my guitar each day.” Should Christians pray to God for such things?

As far as I can tell there’s nothing wrong with that, anyone can pray to God to do anything that is good and beneficial. Though I suppose some things (like clipping your toenails more often or something) could certainly be handled with simple decisiveness, unless it’s just that much of a problem or something. In all honesty I’m pretty new to the idea of being “religious,” so I might be way off, but it seems logical.

I would say there’s nothing wrong praying to practice guitar daily with perseverance, I myself should make such prayers as a musician more often. Especially if guitar performance is your career, that’s no light matter.

When you were a little child, did your father care whether you slept well? Would he have cared if you practiced a musical instrument? Of course he did; of course he would.

God is your Father equally as much, and He also cares about your small things, because they concern you, and He loves you.

By bringing “trivial” things to prayer, you increase your time of loving communion with God every day, and that’s always good. If you were to reject speaking to God about certain things because they didn’t matter enough, you would be shutting Him out of part of your life. A prayerful soul wants always to be communicating with God.

Please pray about every single thing that concerns you.

Betsy

Lately, I’ve been wondering about this very thing.

Lo and behold… last night, on EWTN… I heard Mother Angelica talking about it. She said that God cares infinitely about every detail of our lives. Sacred Scripture tells us that He counts each hair that falls from our heads!