Pre-destination

Yup. This is a big one.

I have been working on the problem of Predestination for two months now. I’ve written about 10 pages already. I think I’ve clarified it all. And now it is time to expand everything to be sure I’m not leaving any stone unturned.

If anyone has anything to share on the subject, I want to hear it. Everything from Calvin to Paul to Augustine to Aquinas. Backwards, Forwards, it doesn’t matter how you put it out there.

Maybe a question/answer format would work. Someone asks a question on the subject, others chime in. I’ll try to sync anything. Or throw up an objection.

Hmm… no takers, huh?

Das:

How does God decide?

God bless,
jd

Nope. But you can’t blame them. It was meant to be this way.

I wrote an essay on this very topic a few weeks ago. Basically, predestination falls under the larger category of God’s providence. A good read is the Catholic Encylopedia entry for it. Ultimately, there is the Thomist and Molinist viewpoints. The ultimate question is “what is the medium of God’s foreknowledge.” Be careful of falling into heresy, as this is a very easy topic to lead one astray. Just remember that God predestines no one to hell.

if you have any questions i’d be happy to answer…bottom line, Predestination is a mystery, although there is alot you can write about it…the act of predestining doesn’t lie in the predestined by rather the one who predestines, therefore people are not predestined according to their merits

Niice!

Yep, me too. I wrote a piece that is turning out to be a lot bigger than I expected. Now there are a ton of points to develop. And, since I don’t want to fall into any traps or Oroborous-style conundrums, I thought i’d try to open the conversation and see what comes out. Because if this is correct, then it treats both the Catholic and the Protestant problems, and makes it all very Catholic.