Preaching Hell

In our RCIA meeting of which I am a trainee Catechist we had a lively discussion on Mortal sin in which Hell was mentioned. Our Parish Priest said afterwards that Hell should not be mentioned at RCIA meetings :confused: and others mentioned that Hell should not be preached on.
That got me thinking about the statements of Jesus in the Gospels I think I heard it said that over 80% of the statements in the Bible concerning Hell came from Jesus. In 42 years of being a Catholic I can never remember a single sermon on Hell from a Priest but THE PRIEST JESUS CHRIST preached regularly on Hell. Obviously Jesus preached also on Heaven and Salvation :thumbsup: so I dont want this to be a negative thread.
My question is, what percentage of the sayings of Jesus in the Gospels is on Hell and Damnation does anybody have a good abacus out their.
God Bless

A quick search of the RSV shows that hell (eternal punishment/fire) is mentioned 18 times in the NT and only once in the OT.

I remember when I went through RCIA we did talk about hell or eternal torment at least a couple times. We talked about if it is really a cauldron of fire or more like a cold barren spiritual wasteland totally absent of God’s love.

Looking back, it kind of surprises me that we actually talked about it, considering the deacon and sister that ran the RCIA program were on the liberal side. I also haven’t heard much talk of it since.

You know what I tell people who refuse to teach about hell or don’t believe in it, “You’ll believe when you get there”. Satan’s greatest wish is that we just pretend he is not there so he can go about his business undisturbed.

“O my Jesus, forgive us our sins, save us from the fires of hell, lead all souls to Heaven, especially those who have most need of your mercy.”

The following link is to a sermon on hell given by St. Leonard of Port Maurice. If you haven’t read it, you ought to; then we should all send it to our preists to read.