Premarital sex attitudes among Catholic females

Hi CAF community!

I’m a writing student over at Nova Southeastern University and am currently researching the Catholic faith as part of a project for school, particularly the subject of premarital sex. While I know Catholics believe premarital sex to be morally wrong, I also acknowledge the fact that there has been sexual revolution among women, as was initiated in the 60s. That being said, I’m curious as to what are the individual attitudes among Catholic females of different ages. Is premarital sex absolutely wrong, or are there certain circumstances that allow it? Is it best to save one’s virginity until marriage? Does premarital sex cause lovers in a committed relationship to become more intimate? Things of that sort.

I would love to hear from all of you. I welcome all responses and truly look forward to your insight!

P.S. While names remain anonymous in this forum, I would appreciate it if ages were revealed to get a better understanding.

Thank you so much, and God bless! :slight_smile:

Hi KSmeriglio, and thanks for dropping in. I hope you’ll stick around if you have more questions! I’m not a female, but I wonder if you could be more specific in what you’re looking for. For example, the first two of three questions you asked to Catholic women would necessitate a response in line with the Catholic Church. Answering opposite would indicate a serious schism between the individual and the faith they claim to have.

Catholic Catechism 2353 Fornication is carnal union between an unmarried man and an unmarried woman. It is gravely contrary to the dignity of persons and of human sexuality which is naturally ordered to the good of spouses and the generation and education of children. Moreover, it is a grave scandal when there is corruption of the young.