Priesthood after college?

I’m going to college in NYC this fall. If I majored in Theology, how long would I be in seminary afterwords for the Archdiocese of NY? And how do they handle college debt?

You should contact the Vocations Office for the Archdiocese of New York if you want specific answers to your questions.

The answer is, it depends - refer to post #2. My nephew went to college and got a business degree before studying to become a priest. The business degree was on him, the theology degree he received in the seminary will be paid by the church.

I would agree with this, as it is how it usually works in my diocese also.

OP, here is a link to the Program of Priestly Formation. In addtion to talking to the vocations department, I strongly suggest that any man considering the priesthood read it.

Peace be with you on your journey. :slight_smile:

It is also possible that, If you are accepted as a seminarian, the diocese will also pay for your undergrad. But as previously mentioned check with your diocese.

You are in my prayers. I am at the moment inquiring into the Society of Jesus and the Diocese of Brooklyn. I am going to college this fall. Contact your vocation director. God bless!

In college, you may want to focus more on philosophy than theology. Though individual dioceses and seminaries vary slightly, most want you to have around 30 credits in philosophy and 12 credits in theology before you’re admitted to the Major Seminary.

Remember, if you’re going to a Secular college (e.g. Non-seminary college), then the diocese will only know that you have received academic knowledge… they would not know if you have received Pastoral, human, and spiritual formation…

I asked my priest about going to Notre Dame for my minor seminary, and he told the exact same thing… It would take longer for me to be ordained if I didn’t go to a minor seminary.

So just go where the Diocese sends you.