Priesthood Question

I am a university student and I am currently in the process of converting to Catholicism. I have been in my university’s RCIA program since the start of this academic year and I am looking forward to my confirmation this Easter. I was just wondering, is it strange for someone who is a new convert to feel a strong calling to the priesthood? Thanks.

It isn’t strange at all. But you might want to wait until you are in the Church for awhile. I mean, when I first became a Catholic, I looked into becoming a Carmelite nun. I was told that they don’t take converts that new. Also, my age was a factor since I was already in my 30’s. Give yourself time, finish your studies and talk with a spiritual director. Hopefully, and prayerfully, you can find a priest to help guide you. I had one who was indeed a great priest. He has since retired and moved out of state. I really miss him. But, anyway, study and pray. God will lead you to the right place at the right time. Don’t try to force it or hurry it.

It is not strange to respond to God with such love! :thumbsup: Feel free to discuss this with others, and your local Priest. All those discussions, and prayers before the Blessed Sacrament will help you to descern your calling in the faith.

May God bless you richly!

Canon Law 1041(ish) states a neophyte can’t be a priest. You have to wait two to three years before enter seminary. however your bishop can change that if he wishes.

Wanting to serve the Lord is a huge calling and that is the heart of the catholic Church. You are called to one of the 4 vocations and you may very well have a calling to the priesthood. I would greatly recommend the book To Save A 1000 Souls by Father Bret Brennan.

I will pray for your initiation and vocation.