Pro-Life Atheist Participation at Catholic Events

I’m a pro-life atheist and my Catholic neighbor has been bringing me along to her church from time to time for different social events. That’s how I learned about this year’s Walk for Life which is occurring this Saturday. I signed up to attend (as far as carpooling and lunch plans are concerned) but was recently told by my neighbor that her priest asked her to uninvite me due to my being an atheist.

Is there some kind of ecclesiastical rule which forbids non-Catholics in general (or atheists specifically) from participating in events such as these?

Oh, no! Absolutely not! The pro-life cause needs all the help it can get! Feel free to join up! God bless you!

I agree with the previous poster in principle, and I qualify my perspective because I specifically do not know the particulars of the situation. I don’t know exactly how this local Walk for Life is being organized.

It may be the case that the group would be participating and organizing a Walk for Life which touts the specifically Catholic nature of the group. If the parish is marching in the Walk for Life as a Catholic organization, then it would be inappropriate to march with St. Anthony’s Parish in the walk for life as you are not a member of St. Anthony’s Parish. To march with St. Anthony’s Parish when they have their banners a-blazin’ and when you are not a member is effectively a lie.

There may be other similar exceptions, but every single exception I can think of requires the organizing priest to do some very foolish thing by restricting a Walk for Life to Catholics, either directly as above or incidentally by, say, offering Mass and Holy Communion as part of the day’s events. Indeed, it is the perception of being “pro-life” as being the “Catholic cause” that so quickly marginalized mainline Protestants into apathy back in the '70s.

It is in the best interests of everyone involved to embrace anyone who’d like to march for life in a March for Life.