Problem at work

I got an e-mail from the lady I work with yesterday about me getting more duties. This part got me a little upset:

If you will remember, when you applied for work here we told you the virtual goal for you is to be able to work in the service dept. when I’m not here and after I retire. I do hope this is still your goal.

As some of you know, I’m going back to school in a couple weeks and I’m majoring in Elementary Education. That will in no way help me with my job here. Once I have that degree in my hands I’m going to get a teaching job. Thats my goal as of now. My work knows I’m going back to school but doesn’t know what I’m majoring in. During my interview to get the job here, I was asked if I was going to ever go back to school and I said no. That was almost a year ago and at that time I wasn’t planning on going. From different things that have been said, I think they are trying to get me to say that I’ll be here forever (the lady that wrote the e-mail is retiring in 5 years) or are trying to get me to tell them my major so they can fire me because thats a major that won’t help the company out.

I sat down last night and wrote down every single bill I have. IF it came down to it, I could use my loan money to live on and then get at part-time job. My car will be paid off in January. My rent is $375 a month…so as long as I got a part-time job where I could atleast make that I could use my loan money for the other stuff…If I had a part-time job I could go to school full time and get done faster. Its so much to think about. I just feel like I’m being cornered and they are wanting me to make plans for the next 20 years. I could be married and living in who knows where in 10 years. This e-mail isn’t the first thing either that made me think they are trying to get me to agree to stay here…There is a list of things.

I love the CAF and I know you all only want great things for me so I wanted to get your input.