Problems between my parents and my fiancé

Hi everyone,
I'm new here, and thought maybe I could ask you opinion on something... I'm not sure who else to turn to...

Just to give you a bit of background... My fiancé and I have been together for nine years. We lived in Europe for two years (for jobs), moved back home to Canada for about nine months, and then moved back to Europe again, where we are now living.
I come from a stereotypical Italian family, where my parents wanted me to live at home until I was married (and then some!) so they could do everything for me and take care of me, and this was unfortunately the way it was because I was a broke university student trying to get an education and a good job. My family is very close, always in each other's business and my parents are very controlling. My fiancé, however, comes from a totally different type of family, who respects his personal space, aren't demanding of his time, and he's lived away from home since he was 17 or so.

In the time we moved back home, we had both moved into my parents' house (because we didn't have jobs or a lot of money or anywhere else to live... my fiancé's parents had gotten a divorce while we were away and he couldn't/didn't want to stay with them).
That's when everything went sour... Five adults living in a small house is bad enough, plus the fact that my fiancé and I never had any privacy to have some "together" time without my family hovering, and my fiancé never felt like it was his home so he was uncomfortable for the whole time we were there... Also, as much as they refuse to admit it, my fiancé and my mother and very much alike - stubborn, refusing to listen to reason, always wanting their way, and never wanting anyone to tell them what to do. I love them both dearly but it can be a challenge sometimes. Aside from this, though, I'm close with my mother, and my fiancé and I have a great relationship and I love him very much.