Problems With Cradle Catholics

I have been studying Catholicism for several years and I am currently attending RCIA. I have encountered two or three “cradle Catholics” who became Protestants. Without fail, when I ask them why they became Protestants, I know more about Catholicism than they do. They had been Catholics for over twenty years and they now believe all the Protestant myths about Catholicism. I have to explain the pope to them. I have to explain purgatory to them. I have to explain the deuterocanonicals to them.

I’ve also come across “cradle Catholics” who became Protestants and are now running “ministries” to “save” Catholics. They attempt to counter Catholic doctrine with the “truth of salvation”.

Is this common? What is the cause of this? Why do I as a Protestant understand Catholicism better than they do? How did they attend mass for over twenty years and come out believe they “weren’t saved”? Why do they say they never heard anything about Jesus?

I noticed that almost every Catholic apologist I know of is a former Protestant. Is as if Protestants who become Catholics understand Catholicism better than cradle Catholics. Are cradle Catholics wrong or are we Protestants coming in with rose colored glasses?

Most of these cradle Catholic Protestant converts are now rabid anti-Catholics. Is there anything that can be done to help them? They will not listen to reason.

Thank you

A cradle Catholic is one who is born into a Catholic family.
A practicing Catholic is nurtured through the Church.
A Catholic by inertia or ethnicity or default are lapsed Catholics.
This link with answer most of your questions.

How Can Catholicism Be True When Catholics Are So Dead?

Make use of the material offered in this site. Don’t do anything if there is more than one. Sometimes we are at the edge of our limitations with such people and you have to let go and let God.

Hi!
…yeah, it’s not a new phenomenon!