Process Theology

Please explain the theory of Process Theology. I am intrigued by the idea that God could be glad or sad when something happens to us. What is the story?

Seems a bit dodgy to me.:eek:

But here’s a link that explains it.:thumbsup:

Process Theology

Actually, Process Theology usually refers to
a particular school of Protestant thought,
and is basically a subdivision of liberal
Protestantism, though Teilhard de Chardin
came perilously close. I studied theology
at a uni that was known for cutting edge
Process Theology (until recently). Therefore
I can recommend this link as ‘authentic to the
witness of the Process people’ (that phrase
is derived from the theological method of
Schubert Ogden, a prominent
Process Theologian).

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Charles_Hartshorne

As far as God experiencing emotion with respect to human experience, the answer is Jesus, fully God and fully man.

Jesus at the Incarnation (Annunciation) got a complete rational human soul, consisting of:
[LIST]
*]human mind[LIST]
*]versus the Apollinarian heresy that claimed the divine Logos replaced Jesus’ human mind
*]settled at the First Council of Constantinople (381)[/LIST]
*]a human will
[LIST]
*]versus monothelitism which says Jesus had only a divine will
*]settled at the Third Council of Constantinople (681), which basically ratified the reigning Pope’s teaching of Christ’s two wills as dogma, not the first time a sitting Pope’s Christology was dogmatised in Council (eg Pope Leo the Great’s Tome)[/LIST]
*]and human emotions
[LIST]
*]thankfully nobody seems to have contradicted that one, so
*]no need for an ecumenical council to sort it – so far.[/LIST]
[/LIST]Basically, the Incarnation is the end to a theology of divine apatheia (Greek notion of apathy as necessary attribute of deity). And the Father certainly suffered the loss of His Son, and the Spirit is the source of transformation of human emotion. Bottom line, Catholic dogma affirms that God is sad or glad for us.