Professional/Ethical Dilemma

I am a medical doctor. As a result of this, I am allowed into peoples most private and personal moments. Often, there are times where people are emotionally distraught or particularly vulnerable and exposed.

I am fairly good at separating my personal emotion during these encounters, and I generally try to be supportive without becoming too personal.

There have been a few occasions lately though, where I have felt compelled to guide someone towards Jesus. I have never done it though today I almost did.

Given the secular society we live in, my gut is that this is a bad idea. Perhaps not ethical if my primary focus should be on treating the disease?

Your thoughts are most appreciated.

Maybe turn it to yourself, so to speak… Something like, “I always find prayer helpful in these times,” or “I experienced something similar once, and God helped me in xyz ways.” Then you aren’t telling them “what to do,” you’re just offering an anecdote from your own life.

Your best bet would be to get them to bring up religion. If they bring it up than you’re safe to discuss it with them. Perhaps ask if they participate in any activities or are part of any social groups. I know my primary care doc asks me those questions and I’ll usually mention church. I’m not sure if you have access to the information but records on patients these days will often mention religious affiliation.

What type of doctor are you if you don’t mind me asking, and are your patients only Catholic? If a young man or woman asked about birth control or masturbation what would you tell them?

I am curious about this, too.

I’m a registered nurse. We consider spiritual health as important as physical or mental health, so try to offer counsel in that area if appropriate.