Profound Loneliness

Hi. I've had this problem for a while. I mean, I have my dream boyfriend and my dream job. I have a great life and I'm a straight-A college student. However, I feel a deep loneliness. I love God and I do a lot of work with the church community. Still, I have always had a hard time making friends and it hurts me. Recently, my boyfriend said that he wants to have more time to hang out with his friend and for me to hang out with mine. This brings back all my insecurities of not being wanted, not having enough friends, not knowing why I feel so sad and lonely. Is there a way to get rid of this loneliness?

I'm not sure how to get rid of it. I could have written your post, however. My situation has been getting better, now, so just live it out. Give your boy some space, and he'll probably realize he misses seeing you so often. And message me if you want to talk :)

Loneliness is a terrible cross, so I feel for you.

I'll let others offer advice on tactics for overcoming this, but I wanted to offer the thought that sometimes loneliness comes about as a manifestation of the soul realising it's need for God. That is to say that sometimes the need for God within us brings to light the unsifficiency of the world around us. This can lead to a sense of loneliness and a lack of feeling fulfilment in various areas of our lives. We can at times become acutely aware that no worldly relationship, in itself, will truly make us happy. These experiences of emptiness (perhaps the loneliness in your case) are part of what the mystical teachers, principally St John of the Cross, might refer to as part of the "dark night of the soul".