Prominent Psychiatrist: "No Particular Need for Sex-Education"

Commentary by Dr. Philip NeyOTTAWA, September 4, 2008 (LifeSitenews.com) - I am a retired professor of psychiatry, having taught in 5 universities in different parts of Canada, Hong Kong and New Zealand. I have also run child and adolescent psychiatric units. I have been on school…

Full article…

Very good article and totally true. :thumbsup:

What really disturbs me is that we began sex education in elementary school, and guys were starting to make sexual innuendos at that age. Then in middle school, we learned about “safe sex”. :mad: It wasn’t till I switched to a Catholic high school that we talked about chastity.

What really disturbs me is the fact that people still think abstinence only education works. Regardless of the fact that children and young adults are enrolled in sex ed classes and exposed to the dangers of unprotected sex, their interest would not be any greater then if they were not in sex ed classes. Sex, sexuality, and relationships are everywhere–tv, malls, schools, etc. The idea that people would voluntarily decide to have their children be ignorant of the dangers that sex can lead to without the proper precautions and education is disturbing. Sex ed classes provide neccesary info.

Matt

birth control of any kind is flawed. it can mechanically fail , or fail due to human error.

condoms slow STDs, but they dont fully stop any of them all the time.

to think any different is just fantasy. abstience has only failed once in all of history. why not teach the better method.

Abstinence may not fail, but abstinence-only education has failed spectacularly.

I wonder how the earlier generations got on with out sex education? Especially how some sections of our community seem to think that it’s absolutely essential, cause with out everyone will die of aids or something. One question though. How come teen pregnancy, std’s have been on the increase since the saturation of sex ed classes?