promises to God

If a person makes a vow to give something up as a small mortification and later thinks that this was unwise, is it a sin to then not abstain from the thing that you vowed to give up?

Probably should not make light of vows. I look at vows as life long commitments…e.g., faithfulness in my marriage.

We make resolutions all the time with the intent to keep them…and often we need to begin again.

Make a resolution with God for some small useful things. And talk to Him often, e.g., at the end of each day, about your progress.

I’m no expert but I don’t think that this is a sin.

I recently brought up the matter of altering/breaking a personal promise to God with a good priest in Confession. He explained that one should be more careful about making promises to God and to do it with the permission of ones confessor (ones spiritual director would also be fine, I’d imagine). It’s not something to embark upon without asking a confessor’s (or SD’s) opinion and getting their approval. I imagine that these promises would have to be revisited with the confessor/SD from time to time, to see how things are going.

I think your best bet is to go to Confession as soon as you can, bring up the matter with the priest and ask him for a little guidance. :slight_smile:

Your example is not a sin.

… my dear friend …

… breaking a vow is a sin , there can be extraordinary circumstances that permit one to break a vow in some cases such as to save a life in certain circumstances , its not so simple …

… your bishop can release you from any vows if you ask and he agrees , you can set time limits on vows and conditions , but stick to promises is best …