Protestant asked me about Mary...Help

My sister n law is visiting from out-of-state & asked me why the statue of Mary is standing on a snake. I silently prayed “Holy Spirit speak through me,” and I mumbled something about Genesis and the woman crushing the serpent’s head and then I said I would find out for sure and get back with her. What a moron I must have sounded like. I didn’t mention anything about the New Eve…everything flew out of my head!! I am not good at being articulate with her and I have been praying for an opportunity to plant a seed in her( she’s Assembly of God) and I messed up.:frowning: :blush: She is very intellectual and a deep thinker. She has 2 little kids so she will not have the time to read anything long or a book. I have to be very careful how I respond to her…last year when she visited she ended up crying because she felt like Catholics and Protestants are so different. Can someone link me to a good article? :shrug: Thank you.

You are exactly right.“Genesis 3: [14] And the Lord God said to the serpent: Because thou hast done this thing, thou art cursed among all cattle, and beasts of the earth: upon thy breast shalt thou go, and earth shalt thou eat all the days of thy life. [15] I will put enmities between thee and the woman, and thy seed and her seed: she shall crush thy head, and thou shalt lie in wait for her heel.

Mary is the New Eve, in the same way Jesus is the New Adam. They are the ‘firstborn’ of Christianity in the Messianic Age. This is one of the reasons why Mary was conceived without Original Sin. She is the Perfect Woman that is the counterpart of Jesus, as the Perfect Man. Both of them remained sinless, from birth to death, and showed all of us that it is possible to remain sinless. Unlike the first Adam and Eve, who both sinned through their disobedience of God, Jesus and Mary always obeyed God, in everything they did.