Protestant Bible Studies - Should I Attend?

I had a thought about attending a bible study of my friend.

Can you offer advice if I went there and stated objective truth, rather than opinion? What if I encounter a bible verse unknown to me?

I probably wouldn’t attend because (depends what Protestant denomination) they might interpret certain passages or verses differently so unless you are sure in all the catholic biblical interpretations Best to not get muddled up but I’m no expert

5 Likes

Nice answer

1 Like

Depends on your personality. I wouldn’t because I wouldn’t be able to keep silent but more like… ‘excuse me, but faith alone is not meant here and why did St Paul says here imitate me and what about Maccabees and by the way who put together this Bible books, why is the apocalypse of Peter not here and so on…’ such that I would be probably politely thrown out…

4 Likes

Someone in the group will be gung ho to save you - from the wrong religion -
And most likely, eventually, hammer you with bible verses - ( don’t call anyone father etc )
And one or two people just might be in cahoots and reinforce the argument…
To give you - a heads up - scenario …

5 Likes

If you go, go as a guest or observer, and keep stumm, even if you hear something you think is wrong. You’re on their turf, and they make the rules. If you are not happy about that, then don’t go in the first place.

Hijacking their Bible study to preach your own religion would be exceedingly ungracious, just as a Protestant coming to a Catholic Bible study to preach their religion. They might ask you how a Catholic would interpret a certain passage. Unless you are very well versed in Catholic exegesis, politely decline and tell them you aren’t entirely sure, which is almost certainly the case.