Protestant Communion Help Needed

Though a Christian from and amidst the Catholic tradition, I have always strived to understand my non-Catholic brothers and sisters with peace and harmony. As a result I have always been able to understand all sides/arguments of the Communion debate… those who advocate the literal physical presence as well as those who believe not in a physical presence but in a spiritual real presence/symbolism.

I have been contemplating the Eucharist recently and sincerely have a question for those among my Protestant brethren who take the spiritual presence or symbolic paths rather than believing in a physical real presence.

How do you explain why Jesus did not stop those disciples who walked away from Him near the end of Jn 6 and clearly tell them He was not speaking of eating his flesh literally? And what about Justin Martyr and the ECFs?

Thanks so much for any help you might provide. And God bless. Peace.

While I am not a Protestant, I think there is one important point that should be made here.
When certain Protestants claim that their communion is only a symbol, they are speaking the truth. They have no authority to concecrate the elements of bread and wine to become the body and blood of Christ. The only choice they have if they do believe that it was meant to be the real presence is to become a member of the Catholic Church. They will never have the real presence otherwise.

Because Jesus wasn’t concerned with numbers but unquestioning obedience. The same reason he didn’t stop the rich young ruler who walked away sad. Or, you could take that literally too and sell all of your possessions and give them to the poor. Somehow, I doubt you’ll do this.