Proud to be Catholic Questions

I want to first thank all of those who read this thread and know that I had no idea where to post this question.

I would like to mention that I am technically a baby Catholic and so I am still learning and trying to understand my Catholic brothers and sisters and etc. My question: is it wrong to be proud or even proud to show that you are Catholic? I know there is a good and bad type of pride by which one is negative and the other is positive.

I ask this question because coming into the faith I am the one who sees things differently because I am looking through the experience I have lived in; anyways I notice that many like to hide their faith and will tell others who are more open to who they are that they should not do that openly.

I got over a year ago a message from one of my parishioners who wrote to me that I should not write any priests name on my blog or put my name on anything especially a blog because if an atheist professor of mine saw this they would grade me with a bias. And at the end of the email the parishoner then tells me that I should only write about my faith in a Christian based websites only. How are we to show our faith to those who do not understand our faith? Was it not true that after Jesus’ death and resurrection, did not the apostles openly show their faith and proclaim Jesus?

I was very hurt because in this world I can tell you Christians and Catholics are sometimes opressed from expressing our beautiful faith. I know I do not push my faith on anyone because I know that I need to show my faith and allow my prayers to help convert those who had yet found God or are in denial of His existence. Being upset about this I wanted to write to this parishioner that if they (being the professors) never noticed the Pope Benedict XVI shirt, medals, rosary, and prayer book then they were blind. But, I was wondering do you think?