Providentissimus Deus (1893)

I am an amateur Biblical scholar and have led a Bible study group in my parish. I have been reading Pope Leo XIII's encyclical Providentissimus Deus again and I am struck by the clarity and brilliance of its messages to Catholics about how they should approach the Bible and how we should study it.

vatican.va/holy_father/leo_xiii/encyclicals/documents/hf_l-xiii_enc_18111893_providentissimus-deus_en.html

I am wondering, if anyone knows, what influence PD had on the formulation of Dei Verbum at the Second Vatican Council, as I find the ideas in PD more clearly expressed than those in Dei Verbum. I am sort of wondering why Dei Verbum was necessary (noting also Pope Pius XII's contribution in Divino Afflante Spiritu) when a small revision of PD may have achieved a good outcome. I realise that DV is a conciliar document and I am not trying to start a war over Vatican II. I was just curious as to whether anyone knew more about PD, its formulation and then its influence over Catholic Biblical scholarship.

Thanks to all concerned.

I haven't read PD for some time, but it is credited with being the start of modern Biblical studies in the Church.

yes, there is clear language about Bible study back then and what the Pope thought was wrong with it.

I seem to recall Fr. Mitch Pacwa of EWTN crediting PD as encouraging Bible study by lay Catholics, by attaching an indulgence to the same.

I think VD at VatII was a more general and comprehensive overview of Biblical study than was PD. There was some tricky words and catchy phrases in VD, one of which is that scripture "contains" the Word of God versus "is" the Word of God. I think it was a way of leaving scholars some wiggle room about problems and issues that crop up in the holy book.