Publically criticized - how should I respond?

I was just at a PTA meeting where I was thanking the PTA for having sponsored me to go on a course with a teacher from the school on a topic which I have been volunteering in the school regarding for two years. I have a good working relationship with the teacher but on explaining what we learned on the course she said to the entire meeting of principals, staff and teachers “It was very useful because I didn’t know anything about A and Kindness didn’t know anything about B and now she does”.

B is a topic that I have helped the school and parents with in detail. In fact I advised the head of the PTA about it and she was sitting at the meeting. The PTA told me they wanted to thank me for all my volunteer work and they offered to sponsor me for this career development.The teacher also knew that I gave a workshop to parents on the topic last Fall - in fact she took my notes from the event and said how great they were. Of course I have plenty of room for improvement, but I feel that the teacher threw me under the bus in front of the meeting.

What is an appropriate way to respond? Do you think I should ask the teacher why she said that - or not?

Up until this time I felt we were working so well as a team for the good of the school. I have good working relationships with everyone at the school.

Are you a fellow teacher, or are you a student or a teacher in training?

I would let it go.

Peace

Tim

According to Matthew 18:15-18, if you feel this is a matter you want to resolve, you should approach the other teacher in private and explain how you feel about what she said.

Since you have helped with the particular topic in the past and been recognized for it, I doubt that anyone there took that comment seriously or that it will harm your reputation. Regardless, if you feel hurt, it would be prudent to approach the teacher privately adn explain this.