Purgatory help?

Forgive me, but I am very new to this.

Can someone explain to me what exactly purgatory is? I saw in another thread some saying that protestants will be there a long time because they don’t pray for the dead. What does this mean?

How do you end up in purgatory and how do you get out?

Thanks for your help! (and patience)

Welcome Jimmie :slight_smile:
here is some help
purgatory help#1
and where it is in the bible
purgatory help # 2

Have you seen the Catholic.com tracts on this subject? They really do a great job of explaining it:

catholic.com/library/Purgatory.asp
catholic.com/library/Roots_of_Purgatory.asp

Thank you for the links. I was looking at the one to catholic.com and am puzzled by this:

**Why would anyone go to purgatory? To be cleansed, for “nothing unclean shall enter [heaven]” (Rev. 21:27). Anyone who has not been completely freed of sin and its effects is, to some extent, “unclean.” Through repentance he may have gained the grace needed to be worthy of heaven, which is to say, he has been forgiven and his soul is spiritually alive. But that’s not sufficient for gaining entrance into heaven. He needs to be cleansed completely. **

I understand that there can be no uncleanness (sin) in Heaven. How do we cleanse our souls after we are dead? What do we do while in purgatory to cleanse ourselves? Doesn’t the cleansing of sin happen when we are saved? What more do we need to do other than accept Christ?

Thanks,
Jimmie

Well, it is by the merit of Christ that this purging happens. I’m not sure if you are Catholic, but there is an image we like of Jesus’ Sacred Heart. And in this image, there are flames coming out of it that represent His burning love for us. I like to think of the purgatorial flames in the same way. It is Christ’s love burning away any stain of our sins.