Purgatory proof in the bible?

Hi everyone, I came across a verse in Mark that 'screams' purgatory, and I came to see if it is so.

(I am fairly new to writing verses by number, I hope the number is right lol.)

Mark 9:49

"Everyone will be purified by fire as a sacrifice is purified by salt."

In context it is where he is talking about if your foot or eye cause you to sin/ lose faith. I am so sure it's talking about purgatory because he is talking about sin, then hell, then about how everyone will be purified.

Any church teaching on this?

Thank You, and God Bless.

Seems like you're quoting from the Good News Translation and they are way off according to the Greek interlinear NT. Literally, verse 49 should read, "Every for to fire shall be being salted and every sacrifice to salt."

The New American Bible only says verse 49, "Everyone will be salted with fire."

I think Jesus is referring to the victims in Hell where, "where their worm does not die and the fire is not quenched."

I think the reference to salt is as a preservative to the victims body to represent the body as being somehow preserved for eternal torments.

So my bible is off? o__o
Do I need a new one? I don’t really get it.

[quote="Maria1993, post:3, topic:312857"]
So my bible is off? o__o
Do I need a new one? I don't really get it.

[/quote]

I am not familiar with the Good News Translation, but it was pretty far off in how it read Mark 9.49. You may want to check for reviews online.

When studying the Bible, it's always a good idea to reference different translations, especially the original Greek manuscripts. For this, simply look up the Greek Interlinear New Testament online. It is in English, but reads exactly according to the Greek words and sentence structure. In my opinion, this is the best way the sense of the original text.

[quote="cap76, post:2, topic:312857"]