Purgatory

Hi

I am very much drawn to knowing and understanding the Catholic Church, but I was wondering…is Purgatory real…are there any Bible passages that offer proof of purgatory?

Heather

Yes purgatory is real, we should pray for those in purgatory so they can enter heaven quicker

Yes. There are bible passages which offer proof of purgatory.

Here is a nice video where Scott Hahn (a former protestant minister) responds to someone’s question about the Catholic/biblical doctrine of Purgatory.

Video here >> youtu.be/_ifKJSuKaNk

Hi Heather,

God bless you on your journey.

I am no expert, but this is how purgatory was explained to me. When we are baptized, the Original Sin is washed away. (Original Sin is not personal sin – Original Sin is what we call our loss of Divine Inheritance because of Adam and Eve’s disobedience). When we commit personal grave sins, are mastered by venial sins, etc, we need to go to confession (in addition to routine confession), and the absolution removes the personal sin from our souls similar to a cancer being removed by a doctor. That said, there are still leftover scars. Purgatory removes those scars by burning them away. Its is a loving fire that burns them away, and the feeling is like being so deeply in love that it hurts beyond words. It is a safe feeling and a very intimate experience.

People have written about purgatory-like experiences here on Earth. See for example newtheologicalmovement.blogspot.com/2010/11/prayer-purgatory-on-earth.html.

For a scriptural description, here’s one article: mostholyfamilymonastery.com/Articles/the_bible_teaches_purgatory.pdf

Hope this helps.

Blessings in Christ,
Zuhara

Have you read the CCC on this topic? Paragraphs 1030-1032 & 1474 which include the bible passage references. If this does not answer your questions please feel free to ask a more direct question here.:thumbsup:

Peace!!!

Here’s a good explanation of Purgatory from the tracts section of the Catholic Answers website: