Purpose of my life?

Good evening all,

Some background info about me before I ask my questions. BTW, this is a long post.

Ever since I was 4 years old, I’ve always dreamed of becoming a dentist. As a dentist, I want to be the person to take pain away and give smiles through my knowledge of science and compassion for humanity. My parents have always love and supported me. They always told me to always pray; pray for anything that you can’t control. 17 years later, I’m a senior at UT. For 3 years, I’ve been trying to do my best in school in order to get the best grades possible since dental school is so competitive nowadays. I recently sent in my dental school application and I’m just prayin’ for an interview. I talked to my parents and they basically said, “If you get in this time, great! If not, keep trying but most importantly keep prayin’.”

For a long time, there was this uncertainty in the back of my mind. I try not to think about it because I fear it will distract me but the question is, “What IF I’m not meant to be a dentist?” What if God has something else in store for me but I just can’t see it? The part that fears me the most is that if somehow in the near future, I don’t want to be a dentist anymore, I will know that I have WASTED all my time and all of my parent’s money for my undergrad.