Question about celebration of Mass

Hello all,

I have attended my first Mass today, and while it was both a pleasant and an overwhelming experience, I was left with a question:

After Communion, and before the "official" end of the Mass (i.e. before the dismissal), a Novena (or preparation for a novena, bear with me, I'm new to all of this) to St. Anthony and the Litany of the Sacred Heart were prayed.

Is this a "correct" way of celebrating Mass? Should these prayers be included before the dismissal?

I've read about the Concluding Rites in the GIRM, and something doesn't add up... Sorry if I'm offending anyone, and thanks in advance for your answers.

Hi there,

Congratulations on your first mass! It will take a little while but nevertheless you will start to pick up on the order of the mass and what happens. The mass is very sacred and rewarding but also confusing, especially since parts of it change throughout the liturgical season.

If you would like to elaborate on this some more that would be helpful because I am not sure what you are talking about. Check this post out as far as the recitation of the litany, I am not really sure how to respond to that being prayed.forums.catholic.com/showthread.php?t=271697

Thank you so much for your detailed answer! So at least the novena part was definitely ok.

[quote="Zooman77, post:2, topic:329525"]
If you would like to elaborate on this some more that would be helpful because I am not sure what you are talking about. Check this post out as far as the recitation of the litany, I am not really sure how to respond to that being prayed.forums.catholic.com/showthread.php?t=271697

[/quote]