Question about contraception

I am brand new here, forgive me if this has been asked before or if this is the wrong place for this question. I have been married for 7 years and have one son born last year. My husband is a cradle Catholic and I came in through the RCIA program in 2001. I was not well evangelized until recently, when I started studying the Catechism. Back in 2004 or so, I stopped taking the pill because someone I know that is a devout Catholic explained to me that it is abortoficient (sp?). My husband would not agree to NFP even though I wanted to try it. Although, he did agree to stopping the pill, he wanted to use condoms for birth control. In my studies of the Catechism, I know that birth control is a mortal sin. I go to confession regularly and am very upset about having this sin on my soul every time I go in because my husband is still insistent on using condoms instead of NFP. I have educated myself on NFP and have started charting and such, to try to help him understand that we can do it, but he does not want to discuss it. I have been praying the rosary over this, and I am not sure what to do. Any advice would be welcome at this point.
Thanks!

I’m sorry that your husband is not more open to life. You are correct that using contraceptives is a mortal sin, and that the pill can have abortifacient qualites.

Praying the Rosary is an excellent thing to be doing. You could also ask St. Joseph to help your husband.

There are a few things you can do: one is talk to your priest and get his advice. You are not the first couple to go through this situation.