Question about conversion to the Catholic Church

I was born a Protestant and was christened in the United Church of Canada. For those of you who are unaware, it is a church that was founded in the early 20th century when the Presbyterian, Methodist and Congregational churches in Canada unified into one single church.

In any case, as a teenager, I received a Catholic education and I grew to be fundamentally at odds with the church I was baptized into. The church’s policy of supporting abortion, sanctioning gay marriage and gay ordination etc. only pushed me closer to the Roman Catholic Church.

A few years ago, I made the decision to convert but my pastor felt that RCIA classes were not necessary for me because of my education in a Catholic school and because I studied Catholic theology at a Catholic university. He spoke to me for a few weeks to get an understanding of where my mind was, what stage my spiritual development was at, and before he made his decision about whether or not to make me attend RCIA classes, he quizzed me on just about every subject relating to the faith that you can imagine.

Anyways, I was welcomed into the Catholic Church BUT he re-baptized me. I thought nothing of it because I assumed that my christening in a church like the United Church was probably invalid (given their questionable beliefs)… but recently, I have become concerned that my re-baptism should not have been performed.

I know this is probably something that I should not worry about, but in some sense, I feel guilty. I feel like my confirmation, first communion and reconciliation were “botched” because I shouldn’t have been re-baptized to begin with. Maybe I am wrong and maybe I am over-thinking things, but this has been bothering me and I would like some opinions on this.

Thank you for your patience and understanding,

Quit worrying about it.

The conditional baptism (which is probably what you had) is just in case the previous baptism was not valid.