Question about God..

Pax Christi !

Just wondering… Why is God silent during times of depression and such? I’m not saying that He is not helping me all the time but sometimes it feels like He is not present during some sad times because of His silence.
I love God, and I shall always love Him, I just want to this since it bothered me lately.

God bless us all…

You need to go to Mass. you were not at Mass this week. Or at least not mentally present.

It’s sometimes hard to hear, especially when your soul is crying in pain…praying for you.

I have some experience with what you’re saying, but I can only wish I understood it enough to give you an answer. Have you heard Andrew Peterson’s The Silence of God? I’ve found it helpful. He has a couple more I’ve found quite apt at times like this: The Rain Keeps Falling and Sower’s Song. This man clearly knows what you’re talking about, too!

I go to Mass, daily, and I am mentally present. While the Mass itself can be subjectively helpful, when one is in this state its help is mostly in the objective sense, which must be trusted but may or may not be perceived - and therefore doesn’t necessarily address the conscious questions this problem raises in the moment. We trust that over time we will be more closely conformed to Christ; however, this does not usually happen appreciably in just 25 or 55 minutes. So don’t worry if Mass also seems silent to you right now. Just do the best you can. Keep showing up, listen, and wait. The waiting will end.

I wonder if the waiting is part of the reason for the silence – to stretch us.

I’ve had these verses on my bathroom mirror for a while. I hope you find them helpful.

Jesus said to his disciples:
"Amen, amen, I say to you, you will weep and mourn,
while the world rejoices;
you will grieve, but your grief will become joy.
When a woman is in labor, she is in anguish because her hour has arrived;
but when she has given birth to a child,
she no longer remembers the pain because of her joy