Question about Heresy

Hello all,

Before you read this, please know that non of this is meant to be insulting…okay…if I don’t ask the questions, then I’ll never find the answers.

I belong to a church in which we label ourselves as “traditionalist”. I am fairly new to the Catholic faith, and am still learning. I would really like to visit other churches, mingle with other Catholics, and find someone in my age group to associate with, as there is no one at the church that I attend.

My priest says that to attend another church and to associate myself with “modernist” is heresy…because since they have given in to the sin of modernism, they are not true Catholics. I don’t necessarily agree with this, but I can’t defy the priest.

Here is a list of what we believe as “traditionalist”, verses what “modernist” believe.

Traditionalist: All unbaptized babies, even those aborted, go to limbo and will never see the face of God.

Modernist: Babies, especially those aborted have no sin, therefor they go strait to Heaven when they die.

The problem is(according to what I’ve been taught)…if aborted babies went strait to Heaven, then abortion wouldn’t be smiled upon by Satan, who’s desire is that non of us go to Heaven. Satan likes abortion, because those aborted do not get into Heaven.

Traditionalist: The Latin Mass is the ONLY true Mass, because Latin is a “dead language”. Anything else is sinful, because words of “living languages” are constantly changing it’s meaning of words, and the words in the Mass were never meant to be changed.

Modernist: The Mass needs to be spoken in a language that the people can understand.

Traditionalist: The priest conducts Mass with his back turned to the congregation, so that his full attention is at the alter in adoration of Christ.

Modernist: The priest faces the people, so that he can see them, and they can see him. In a way, the priest glorifies himself.