Question About John 10 and “Personal Dimensions of Faith”

I’m majoring in theology at a Catholic university and am having a difficult time with an assigned question. Is this question appropriate within the context of John 10 at all?

“Describe the ways in which the personal dimension of faith, as response to a personal God, is expressed in John 10.”

I have read several articles here on Catholic Answers that have lead me to believe that the “personal relationship theology” isn’t scriptural. Eric Sammons’ article “Jesus Isn’t Your Buddy” particularly states this. Also, USCCB has unending footnotes at the end of each chapter of Scripture that help the reader to understand the context of specific sentences/verses, and in no way does any of John 10 seem to be applicable to a personal dimension of faith.

Have I misunderstood this question all together?

IMO, you haven’t misunderstood the question; you seem to think the question isn’t valid, though.

FWIW, I think the question is valid and I’m wondering why you’re majoring in theology if you think it’s not valid. Theology is about getting to know God better, and if you think we’re not supposed to (or can’t) have a personal relationship with Him, then why study theology?

Just curious. Sorry if my question makes you uncomfortable.

1 Like

Yes, it is.

1 Like

No, I think you’re just approaching it from the wrong direction.

Maybe you should read up on shepherds and sheep. Does the shepherd know each sheep individually – its personality, its health, its strengths and weaknesses? Do the sheep know their shepherd and follow his voice?

I’ll admit that I don’t know much about sheep, but I read The Alchemist, a work of fiction by Paulo Coelho. Highly recommended for your major, by the way. From his description, it is very much like a personal relationship.

But don’t take my word for it. Do your own research on sheep and shepherds.