Question for the future

As some of you know im new to the Catholic faith and wondered is Sterlization surgery sinful?

Yes, it’s a sin. It interferes with the capacity to have children.

Really? Dang this is quite different from the Methodist church, on the bright side i have to be held still for injections so theres a pain ill get to avoid, vaccines are ok right lots of myths about the beliefs out there

May I suggest you get a copy of “An Examination of Conscience.” It’s put out by the LeafletMissal Company (they have a catalog with lots of stuff). I know there’s more than one listed, but this one has a purple cover. Ok, more like lavender. Anyway, it seperate Mortal sin, Venial sins and Imperfections. Plus it gives prayers for before and after confession. I’m on my second copy (I wore out the first one). Don’t feel like you have to learn everything by a certain time or anything like that. Keep studying, yes. But it will come with time.

Hi T,

Yes, Catholics believe that we should be open to life during times of sexual intimacy, so the sterilization of sexual organs would be considered a sin.

The question of vaccines gets a little bit stickier in the moral sense, as some of them have been created from aborted fetuses. However, I don’t know that this is even common knowledge. I found it as I was looking up vaccine information.

Chicken Pox, Hepatitis A and Rubella (German Measles) Vaccines have been created by using aborted fetal cells, and there aren’t any alternative vaccine sources yet–for receiving these vaccines–from what I have seen on-line.

These vaccine lines go way back to aborted fetuses from the 1960’s and 1970’s.

The Vatican considers this to be “morally evil.”

At the same time, according to an article that I was reading from 2005 from a Catholic newsletter, we are to weigh it out for ourselves, if we have a sick child for example, and decide that we need that vaccine.