Question on ignorance?

Hello,

Recently, I got into an argument with my friend about why I believe that the Eucharist is the Body, Blood, Soul and Divinity of Jesus Christ. However, I am not good at explaining things and kind of fumbled up the explanation. My friend told me that if I could not explain something, I obviously don’t understand it and criticized me for not understanding, yet being so faithful to the Catholic Church. While being called ignorant rather hurt my ego, it got me thinking as well. As a cradle born Catholic, I do not think I question my faith as much as I should. Could this be classified as a sin of ignorance? Is a sense of contentment in the simple things we learn while attending Mass, the occasional retreat, religious article, or catechism lookup a false contentment?

Is our only assurance of avoiding the sin of ignorance a constant struggle to question every aspect of our faith? I personally feel as though this would take a very negative toll on some people and void any simplicity the Catholic Church holds. And of course, some things simply can not be understood, right?

Thanks!

You can understand something you can’t explain, I suppose. We understand what the Trinity is, but we do not know everything about it, and there are some things that we simply cannot answer right now. Also, you should use the Trinity example because, chances are, it applies to your friend.

Be careful here. While thinking about faith can be good and get you deeper into it, it can also be dangerous: you may feel less confident about your faith, or even lose it entirely (hopefully neither would happen).

I don’t really know about willful ignorance and its theology, but I can redirect you to something that might help if you can find it online: St. Thomas Aquinas, Summa, I-II, q. 76, a. 1, a. 3, Whether ignorance can be the cause of sin?