Question on the Bible

Hi all
I posted a question on another site about the books of the Bible that Catholic’s claim were removed from the original Bible. This is his responce.

Dear Dave

It has been a while since I studied the Canonicity of the Bible. The Canonicity is at the heart of your question. Though I will not go into a lenghty discussion on that subject, I will try and address your direct question concerning removal of books.

Dave, what is at question is what is referred to as the Apocrypha. These are mainly historical books that were written after Malachi (400 B.C.) and prior to the coming of Jesus. These books were not recognized by Jesus nor the Apostles of the New Testament, which is a study in and of its self. They were not offically accepted until the Council of Trent as canonical in 1546, though accepted by some before then. The “Prayer of Manasses” (Manasseh) was included before 1550, but is now left out. “The prayer breathes a Christian spirit, and it is not entirely certain that it is really of Jewish origin.” (Catholic Enyc., I, 605). The Council of Trent did not accept 1 and 2 Esdras along with the Prayer of Manasseh.