Question regarding covetousness

Covetousness is a mortal sin especially when one goes through unjust means to acquire something (e.g stealing $1000 to get a new television)

But can covetousness also occur in these kinds of situations? For example: I have a functioning and working keyboard for my desktop, but there’s a new model that’s really nice but expensive ($100). I don’t need it, I have a perfect functioning keyboard to already use but I like it so I’m gonna buy it. Would this be or lead to near occasions of covetousness?

I’m sorry if this is a dumb question, I’m studying deeper into the Faith and don’t understand much yet

I think covetousness is like envy, wanting something that someone else has and wanting to take it from them rather than wanting a better keyboard that you can purchase yourself.

If you look at the commandment in the Bible the prohibition is on coveting your “neighbor’s wife or his house…or anything that is his”. The point then is not that you want something that you don’t have. It is that you want something that belongs to someone else. It is not coveting to say “I would like to go to the store and buy x if I had enough money”. That’s an aspiration. It is coveting to say “my neighbor has a 90” plasma screen and I don’t. Why does he have that and not me?". Coveting is desiring something that belongs to your neighbor.

You need to delve deeper into what you really mean when you say, “but I want it”. Why do you want it?

It’s just an example by the way, and hmm most likely because of its better features e.g key response time, design, etc

Modern Catholic Dictionary: